Cigar Box Ukulele


This is a ukulele I made out of a cigar box. I used friction peg tuners for an extra thrifty project. They are often called for in depression era cigar box ukulele plans so I thought I’d give them a shot. They are a bit challenging to use though, I will admit. I also chose to install only the first six frets, since anything past there seems silly on such a small instrument. I think if I made another one I’d put on one more fret, so you can get a 5th from the nut, but no more. It’s loads of fun to play, especially in the car, which you cannot do with a guitar. Here’s a video of it in action, with a low G string, which makes it play more like a guitar.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

