Plasma arcs weee!

Since seeing some arc welding this weekend in T or C I’ve been recollecting the parts for my microwave transformer arc welder project. Whilst contemplating the design I thought I’d have a little fun with high voltage arcs and scare my housemate at the same time. I wired the transformer up unmodified, and let’er rip.

Note: This is probably super dangerous, so don’t do it.

The transformer is used in a microwave to drive the magnetron tube. It produces a supper high voltage for this purpose, and from what I can tell at a relatively high current compared to a flyback transformer for example.

The next step for my arc wealder is to cut out one of the windings and replace it with heavy guage wire. You can read all about this on the instructable I got the idea from here.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Plasma arcs weee!”

  1. Zack Says:

    Tristan, you are insane. I absolutely love it!

Leave a Reply

